whole 30

images

Since Lent began (and ended), I’ve really taken notice of just how addicted I am to sugar, carbs, grains, and the like. I didn’t even realize it until I cut it all out for all of a week. Yes, Lent is 40 days. I lasted all of a week. Maybe a little less. I’m not sure because once I failed, I didn’t even care. I’ve tried to eat healthier since Baby J arrived since I never wanted to be a lazy mom. I’ve always imagined myself to be an active, natural, healthy mama, hence the losing 65ish pounds over the last two years. I want to set a good example of health for my son and future children.

Food has been a source of many things for me. It’s been a source of comfort, angst, pain, and joy. I’ve been able to move past seeing food as a true enemy and found joy in eating and enjoying company around a dinner table. That being said, I still use food as a crutch. I use it as a means for comfort when I’m stressed out, and typically, that means a trip to the freezer for some ice cream or chocolate chips. I rely more on food than I do on God. Yes, you read that right. I rely more on food than I do on God. It’s so hard to actually put that into words and admit that.

Recently, I’ve gotten into working out, running, and doing yoga as a means to make me feel better, and it does. It’s amazing and I feel so good on days when I get to workout and run and really take care of my body. However, in spite of my newfound love of working out and endorphins, I still haven’t managed to drastically change my diet to reflect that. So, as a means of desperation, I am turning to Whole 30. What is Whole 30 might you ask? Well, the short version is Whole 30 is a way of eating for 30 days to help target things that may be causing me to be more tired, bloated, and emotional, to name a few things. It’s meant to eliminate dairy, grains, legumes, sugar (both natural and artificial), soy, alcohol, processed foods, and corn in an effort to really get rid of sugar addictions, and help change your body and mindset when it comes to eating. I’m still about 15-20 lbs. over my “ideal weight” and even though I’ve lost 65-70 (depending on the day…), I’d still like to be healthier and make better food choices. I don’t want food to have control over me. I want to release the last little bit of weight and really be able to turn to the Lord in times of needing comfort, not a roll of cookie dough.

So, for the next 30 days, please pray for me. 🙂 I’ll be sticking to a whole foods diet consisting of high-quality meats, seafood, vegetables, a little bit a fruit and a whole lot of strength from God. Oh yeah, I’m also NOT allowed to weigh myself or count calories for the duration of the 30 days. This MIGHT be the hardest part for me since I’m obsessed with MyFitnessPal app. But alas, I start next Monday, May 5th. Wish me luck and if you’ve done a Whole 30 before, PLEASE give me your tips and tricks to get over the cravings. I’ll post yummy recipes as I find them for those looking for a more whole foods, clean diet.

One thought on “whole 30

Leave a Reply

