samoa mini cheesecakes

For Valentine’s Day, Mr. Wonderful and I got to go on a date on the Saturday after Valentine’s (the 15th) and when the question came up of where to go, Grimaldi’s Pizzeria was on the list; but not because of their delicious pizza, but because of their Girl Scout Cookie inspired cheesecakes. Yes, Girl Scout Cookie cheesecakes, and while that sounded delicious, I can rarely be ok with spending the extra $7-10 for a dessert that I feel like I can make myself for cheaper. So, off to Pinterest I went in search of the best recipe for Samoa cheesecake, but to very little avail did I find any recipes! I was pretty disappointed, so I found a basic cheesecake recipe here for mini cheesecakes and altered it to make it with Samoas (Mr. Wonderful’s FAVORITE cookie). So, below is the recipe. I wish I would have taken a picture of the deliciousness, but unfortunately, they were gone before I got the opportunity to take a photo. That’s how good they were. Also, I’m making a variation for a potluck tonight using Thin Mints (as a base AND crumbled in the cake) and Trefoils (as a base with fresh strawberries) since we have an abundance of Girl Scout cookies in our house. 🙂

girl-scoutcook-4

Samoa Cheesecakes:

Ingredients:

2- 8 oz. packages of block cream cheese softened (or a 16 oz. block would work too 😉 )

3/4 cup of white sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp of vanilla

20 Samoas

1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips

around 1/4 cup of unsweetened shredded coconut for top

1. Preheat the oven to 350 and place cupcake liners into a cupcake tin.

2. Place 1 Samoa at the bottom of each cupcake liner (this recipe made about 20 cheesecakes).

3. Blend together the cream cheese and the sugar in a mixer. Add in the eggs. Then the vanilla. Once that’s all blended together nicely, add in the chocolate chips, but save the coconut for the topping.

4. Mix in the chocolate chips.

5. Pour the mixture over the Somoas and top with a sprinkle of coconut, which will toast while the cheesecake bakes.

6. Bake at 350 for 15 minutes. Let cool and then place in the refrigerator. They’re always better colder.

These are so easy and so delicious and I can’t wait to make some different variations of them!

Leave a Reply

