a sick toddler and lots of cuddle time

I’m convinced that it’s one of the most challenging things in the world to have a sick child. I couldn’t even begin to imagine losing a child (and I pray for those of you that have), but the pain of watching your little person go through pain and suffering is heartbreaking.

This week, Baby J has been sick. Not just sniffles sick, but run-a-temperature-of-104 sick. Temperatures that high scare me. He’s been sick before, but not with temperatures this high. Needless to say, I was worried. It started on Sunday, right as we were getting ready to head to a Super Bowl party. We took his temperature and it was 101.4, which I thought was just related to the 4 molars that have been working their way into his mouth for the last several weeks. So, we went to the party any ways. While we were there, he was super irritable and fussy, two things that he is  sometimes under normal circumstances, but he also didn’t want to play with the other kids, which is very unlike him. So, he and I left the party, and when we got home, the kid fell asleep on me, which he hasn’t done for over a year.

photo 1

 

That tipped me off that something was wrong. So, we sent a family member to the store to get some necessities (i.e. more ibuprofen, a better thermometer, and Pedialyte). All through that night, he was SUPER lethargic and extremely hot, even with the medicine to help the fever go down. The next day we went to the pediatrician, and of course, he was sick with a virus and there wasn’t really anything they could do for him, except to tell me to medicate him with Tylenol and Motrin every couple of hours rotating the medications. I HATE giving Baby J medicine and so I was looking for a better alternative. I had a good friend bring over some miracle working oil from Young Living called Thieves oil and so I rubbed that on his feet while I rubbed some peppermint oil (a couple of drops in coconut oil) on his spine. I did this every 15-20ish minutes and low and behold, the fever dropped to 100-101, which were temperatures I was MUCH more comfortable with. On Tuesday, I kept up the routine. Between the essential oils and the cuddling on the couch and the tons of naps, by Wednesday Baby J was as good as new (almost). Today, nothing. You wouldn’t have even known the kid was sick.

Needless to say, I am super grateful for a friend who introduced me to these miracle working oils. I prefer going the natural route whenever possible and this time, it was nice to be able to have someone let me test before I buy. 🙂

Something that I couldn’t help but think when Baby J was sick was that I am so grateful for our health and that all that happens to us is a cold here and there. Sick babies are so so sad and it really gives me perspective on how much God loves us when we are hurting or sick. How much He wants to take care of us and love us through our pain and suffering.

Leave a Reply

