blueberry muffins

This weekend has been quite relaxing and has involved spending a lot of time running errands with my family. Mr. Wonderful and I had a pretty awesome date on Friday night to Taco Guild in Phoenix and then got some yummy ice cream at Churn. Then today, we went to church as usual and then grocery shopping, which always proves to be an adventure with a 19 month old toddler. Anyways… that being said, tonight, I just wanted to eat leftovers and relax. Relaxing to me means that I wanted to bake something delicious.

I absolutely LOVE baking and I love blueberry muffins equally as much. Blueberry muffins always bring back great memories of eating the little mini blueberry muffins with my dad before church on a Sunday. When blueberries were on sale this week, I decided that we would get some extra and I’d make some blueberry muffins. I searched for a recipe and then modified it to be a little healthier since I’m really trying to eat better right now. Next time, I think I’ll use all whole wheat or gluten free flour and substitute coconut sugar for white sugar, but for this round and for what I had on hand, they turned out AMAZING.

photo-2

I took the original recipe from Sweet Treats and Healthy Eats and modified it as written below. I found that the crumble on top wasn’t really a crumble as much as a sugary, cinnamony, delicious shell on top of the muffin, which ended up being perfect. My version of this recipe is below and it will make about 12 muffins in a normal-sized muffin tin.

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cup unbleached all-purpose flour (next time I’ll use either a whole wheat or gluten free flour)

3/4 cup sugar (I’d like to try coconut sugar as an alternative as well)

1/4 cup flaxseed meal

1/2 tsp. salt

2 tsp. baking powder

1/3 cup coconut oil

1 egg

1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk (I ended up having a very thick batter and adding about 2 tbsp. extra to thin it out)

approx. 1 cup of fresh blueberries

(Optional: 1/4 cup of chopped nuts, I used pecans in this batch)

For the crumble:

1/4 cup of sugar

1 tbsp. flour

1/8 cup butter, cubed

1 tsp. cinnamon

Directions:
Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Place liners in muffin tin.

Combine the dry ingredients (flour, sugar, baking powder, flaxseed meal, salt). In a separate small bowl, mix together the wet ingredients (vegetable oil, egg, and 1/2 cup milk). Combine the wet and dry ingredients. If the batter texture is more like cookie dough, add in a little bit of milk at a time until the batter is whisk-able. Fold in blueberries and nuts. Fill the muffin tins to the top and sprinkle on some of the cinnamon-sugar crumble.

To make the crumb topping: Mix together the sugar, flour, butter and cinnamon. Use a fork to make it into a coarse crumble.

Bake for 20ish minutes in the oven, or until when a toothpick is inserted it comes out clean.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

