easy pumpkin chocolate chip muffins

Now that it’s officially fall (thanks AZ for getting the memo this year!), we are surrounded by everything being pumpkin spice! Pumpkin spice lattes, pumpkin spice muffins, pumpkin pie, pumpkin, pumpkin, pumpkin. I have to admit though, I am one of those people that doesn’t really like all of the pumpkin stuff. Don’t get me wrong, the occasional pumpkin spice whatever is delicious, but I really am not obsessed.

pumpkin spice ecard

That being said, I got the craving for a pumpkin chocolate chip muffin the other day and really didn’t want to spend $3 on ONE muffin. So, I decided to head over to our friend, Pinterest, and search for a recipe. I already had a can of pumpkin in my cupboard and wanted a super easy recipe to follow. I found this recipe  which only uses a box of cake mix and one 15 oz. can of pumpkin. Perfect! Right? Well, I spruced it up a bit with 2 eggs, some vanilla, more cinnamon, nutmeg, and allspice and of course, 1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips. They turned out perfect and I will definitely be making more again soon. Oh yeah, AND it was only $3 for 24 muffins instead (I froze 1/2.).

photo-1

1 box of SPICE cake mix (some recipes say yellow cake mix works, I like the extra spice)

1 15 oz. can of pureed pumpkin

1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

1 tbsp. vanilla

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. nutmeg

1/2 tsp. all-spice

2 eggs

Mix all the ingredients together, scoop into a cupcake/muffin tin (with liners) and bake for 18 minutes. Let them cool for 5 minutes and enjoy (or freeze some for later)!

2 thoughts on “easy pumpkin chocolate chip muffins

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Spice Latte Recipe | Whiskey, Ink, & Lace

  2. Pingback: Chocolate and Pumpkin Quinoa Muffins | Josie B's Baking

Leave a Reply

