3 favorites

Sometimes, you have an off week as a mama. Things just don’t go the way you want them. That was my week this week, unfortunately. It started off with a nasty stomach bug that I got, then Mr. Wonderful got, and Baby J has managed to NOT get (thank you Jesus!). Then, it just kinda kept me in an ick mood for the rest of this week, which has been completely unnecessary. Sometimes, you just have a “blah” week and that’s ok, but not when it affects those around you. Baby J has watched far too much TV, I’ve been way too into my phone while he’s awake, and also way too snippy with my hubby (who graciously surprised me with frozen yogurt last night after taking the little out for awhile…). That being said, today seemed to turn my mood around, and I’ve been really diving into my Bible for some help getting out of this ick. Most of the time, I’ve found that spending some QUALITY time with God really turns my mood around and helps me to get out of a funk. It changes my perspective and makes me feel more positive.  I am incredibly thankful that we have a loving, gracious God who redeems all things. That being said, this week’s 3 favorites are my 3 favorite Bible verses.

1. Psalm 23

1 The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.
2 He makes me lie down in green pastures.
He leads me beside still waters.
3 He restores my soul.
He leads me in paths of righteousness
for his name’s sake.
4 Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
your rod and your staff,
they comfort me.
5 You prepare a table before me
in the presence of my enemies;
you anoint my head with oil;
my cup overflows.
6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
all the days of my life,
and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord
forever.
2. Matthew 6: 25-34
25  “Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing? 26 Look at the birds of the air: they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? 27 And which of you by being anxious can add a single hour to his span of life? 28 And why are you anxious about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin, 29 yet I tell you, even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. 30 But if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is alive and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will he not much more clothe you, O you of little faith? 31 Therefore do not be anxious, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’  32 For the Gentiles seek after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them all. 33 But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. 34  “Therefore do not be anxious about tomorrow, for tomorrow will be anxious for itself. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.
3. Zephaniah 3:17
17  The Lord your God is in your midst,
a mighty one who will save;
he will rejoice over you with gladness;
he will quiet you by his love;
he will exult over you with loud singing.
Leave a Reply

