blueberry crisp

I hope everyone had a safe Memorial Day weekend. I know that I always enjoy each and every extra day I get with Mr. Wonderful so we spent our morning grabbing a yummy breakfast, going to the aquarium, and then napping… lots of napping. It’s also a great day to have off to celebrate the soldiers who fought and continue to fight for our freedom. Anyways… onto this week’s yummy recipe!

When I first got the book, Bread and Wine by Shauna Niequist, I couldn’t wait to read it. Seriously. This book was on my favorites a couple of weeks ago and I am still reading and re-reading paragraphs because it’s such a good book. It’s a collection of short essays and the beauty of this book is that she includes some of her favorite recipes… like her mom’s blueberry crisp.

I love all things fruity and crispy and baked, so when I read the first chapter of her book and saw that this was the first recipe, I was in LOVE. It is one of the best crisps that I’ve had and I loved the blueberries in it, which I thought blueberries were only appropriate in muffins. Seeing that blueberries are a favorite of his, Baby J ate this up too. This will for sure become a staple in our home.

From Pages 26-27 in Bread and Wine:

Blueberry Crisp:

Ingredients:

4 cups blueberries

Crisp topping:

1 cup old-fashioned oats

1/2 cup raw, unsalted pecans, halved or chopped (I’ve also tried sliced almonds and they are yummy too!)

1/2 cup almond meal (I’ve also used a gluten-free all-purpose flour and it’s worked well)

1/4 cup maple syrup (honey works too, but not if you’re sharing with a baby under 1…)

1/4 cup olive oil (or coconut oil)

1/2 teaspoon salt

Instructions:

Mix together the crisp ingredients.

Pour the berries into an 8 by 8 pan, and then layer the crisp topping over it.

Bake at 350 degrees 35 to 40 minutes, or up to 10 minutes longer if topping and fruit are frozen, until fruit is bubbling and topping is crisp and golden.

Serves: 4 to 6

Leave a Reply

