3 favorites

This week has seemingly gone by very, very quickly. This month, even faster. It’s hard to believe it’s already May 16th and that, on this day next month, Baby J will be ONE. Seriously. Well, onto this week’s favorites.

1. Sesame Street’s Bruno Mars “Don’t Give Up” video 

This is Baby J’s favorite song… ever. Even after Justin Beiber’s “Baby” and Macklemore’s “Thrift Shop”. He will stand up and dance to it and literally light up from being so happy that this song is playing. He even has the muppet part down “oh, oh, ooooOoooo…” It’s our saving grace when we have an extremely fussy baby on our hands. It’s an all-time favorite here. 🙂

2. Date Nights

408391_10102458014950231_373854812_n

 

I don’t write a lot about Mr. Wonderful and our marriage… But I should start. This past year has been quite rocky in our marriage, if I’m going to be honest. Our relationship while we were dating and engaged was so… EASY. We never argued, we never really even disagreed. It was as perfect as could be. When we got married, that was a really big transition for both of us. We had to learn how to be married, and then two months in, BAM, we were expecting sweet Baby J. I was extremely sick (more about that another day) and I also was seriously hormonal. So, things started to get a little rocky during pregnancy. Afterwards, I struggled with a bout of Postpartum Depression (more about that another day too…), which was a huge challenge for both of us. Needless to say, this past year has been a struggle. We’ve definitely had our ups, but we’ve also had our downs… a lot of downs. It’s really made us stronger as a couple and now we’re coming out of those downs (as I come out of my depression). Thank GOD.

As we are growing stronger, we are also really learning how to be married. Guys, marriage is HARD. I didn’t realize that until… 6 months into being married. We are learning how to be married WELL too. I think it’s easy to be married in the sense of “we pay the bills together, we live under the same roof, and we share a last name.” But it’s hard to be married well and really put your spouse and their needs as a priority. We are really learning to serve and honor one another and make our marriage important. It’s been a beautiful thing the last several weeks. Meaning, we are realizing how important date nights are, without Baby J. We love family time too, but we also absolutely love to be together. We sometimes forget how much we really LIKE each other until we go on a date and just talk and laugh and enjoy each other’s company. So, this week, date nights are a favorite. Date nights will always be a favorite because I love Mr. Wonderful greatly and we laugh a LOT when we’re together. This picture is from our most recent date night, on Monday, at our favorite restaurant, Liberty Market in Gilbert. If you’re local, check them out.

3. Shauna Niequist’s new book, Bread & Wine ($13.73 on Amazon)

531982_10102380809710151_11289492_n

 

I LOVE Shauna Niequist’s books. She has written three so far and I can’t wait until she writes another one. So far, each of her books has really spoken to me and made me really relate to her. This book is different in the sense that it’s not only her essays, but also her RECIPES. Guys, she gives you the recipes for the delicious things that she writes about making for her community. It has really inspired me to want to build a genuine community like the one that she writes about. I have a deep desire for that kind of community and relationships. I love to have people over and this book also gives recipes that are easy to make and yummy! Although, I wish I could read it in one sitting, I’ve been reading it non-stop when I have the ability. 🙂 I’d HIGHLY recommend this book to anyone looking for a great read.

Leave a Reply

