brown sugar and cinnamon oatmeal

I have an unrealistic love for breakfast. I think it’s because breakfast is always made up of delicious things, most of which are sweet and not necessarily the healthiest for you. Mr. Wonderful would beg to differ, but it’s definitely my favorite meal of the day. However, as much as I love my breakfast, I don’t always have time to make and eat something, which is why I often default to a hard-boiled egg and a banana. It’s easy and convenient. And I can share with Baby J, always a plus. But, while we were in Omaha, we went to Panera Bread Co. It’s like Paradise Bakery here, and I absolutely LOVE the food. Two days while we were there, we grabbed breakfast and both days, I got their oatmeal. It was heavenly.

I used to hate oatmeal. I have serious texture issues, so oatmeal was something I really couldn’t handle. But when I was told to eat oatmeal to help with my milk production for nursing, I ate it multiple times a day and started to grow to love the stuff, but I really have to doctor it up, and the oatmeal from Panera was really easy to copy, only I used instant oats because steel-cut oats take forever to cook.

391110_10102400246887891_1587588475_n

Here’s my version:

1 packet instant oatmeal

2/3 cup water

1 tbsp. brown sugar

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 tbsp. sliced almonds

4-5 pecans

4-5 strawberries or 10ish blueberries

1. Cook oatmeal according to package.

2. Put on the brown sugar, cinnamon, nuts, and berries and eat.

It really is very simple and this has been a go-to breakfast for me recently with how easy and delicious it is! 🙂

Leave a Reply

