blackberry orange scones

I realize that I have yet to post a CUPCAKE recipe, but we’re making our way there and today’s recipe is for my new favorite breakfast treat, blackberry orange scones. I have always been intimidated by baking scones. I don’t know why. But, for some reason I have. I think it’s because they seem more intimidating than a muffin, cookie, or cake where you just mix all the yummies and throw it in a pan, cupcake tin, or on a cookie sheet and call it a day. There’s mixing and kneading and cutting and then baking. Not to mention that you have to grate butter. And it melts, and I sometimes have issues with texture. It’s a lot of work, but it is WELL worth it.

I got extremely ambitious on a Saturday night while Mr. Wonderful was away for the weekend and after a dear friend posted a picture of the delicious scones that she made (hers were cranberry, orange, and chocolate… YUM.). I had texted her asking for the recipe because I was going to finally make these babies. At 9:30 at night, I decided now was a great time since the baby was down for the night and the cleaning had been caught up on. I had all the ingredients for a basic scone recipe, and even though her cranberry, orange, chocolate combination from heaven looked delicious, I had blackberries and an orange. There it was. And oh my lord were they good. I’ve made these guys twice since then (his trip was mid-April), and each time they are well worth it. Baby J has “helped”  me make them by taste-testing the blackberries and also making sure I mix it all together well while I wear him on my back. Here’s the recipe for the yummy summery scones that I will be sure to enjoy again and again with an iced coffee during the morning nap-time with a good book. 🙂

395618_10102413115254581_2017817789_n

Blackberry Orange Scones (Simple Scones Recipe from www.allrecipes.com)

Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/3 cup sugar

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

8 tablespoons unsalted butter, frozen

1/2 cup raisins  (or dried currants) (I omitted this… I have a thing against raisins)

1/2 cup sour cream

1 large egg

1/4 cup blackberries, cut in half

zest of 1 orange

(and I had to add an extra 1/3 of a cup of flour because the blackberries made the dough too wet to work with)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

2. In a medium bowl, mix flour, 1/3 cup sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Grate butter into flour mixture on the large holes of a box grater; use your fingers to work in butter (mixture should resemble coarse meal), then stir in orange zest.

3. In a small bowl, whisk sour cream and egg until smooth.

4. Using a fork, stir sour cream mixture into flour mixture until large dough clumps form, Use your hands to press the dough against the bowl into a ball. *This was where I slowly mixed in my blackberries. And extra flour. Your hands will be purple.  (The dough will be sticky in places, and there may not seem to be enough liquid at first, but as you press, the dough will come together.)

5. Place on a lightly floured surface and pat into a circle about 3/4 inch thick. Sprinkle with remaining sugar. Use a sharp knife to cut into 8 triangles; place on a cookie sheet (preferably lined with parchment paper), about 1 inch apart. Bake until golden, about 15 minutes. Cool for 5 minutes and serve warm or at room temperature.

 

One thought on “blackberry orange scones

Leave a Reply

