mini meatloaf muffins and hot garlic green beans

I used to hate meatloaf. I mean, the name in and of itself is gross. It’s a loaf of meat. My dad used to make a recipe that had cheese in the middle, and while I’m sure it was delicious, it freaked me out to bite into this slice of meat and all of a sudden something is oozing out. Apparently I had (or still have) some texture issues. So, when I became a wife to a husband who actually likes meatloaf, I needed to find a good recipe for the stuff. A recipe that didn’t make me gag to think about eating. Enter Pinterest. One day I was looking for recipes and these little meatloaf “muffins” popped into my feed. I decided to try them one night. Not bad. Not bad at all. Mr. Wonderful loves them and when we were looking for something to make last night, we discovered we had some ground beef and all the ingredients, so I whipped up a dozen of these little guys. So GOOD. I also made some frozen green beans and added some hot garlic sauce to them. I’ll write up how easy it is to make that too! So, here’s the recipe for the meatloaf muffins.

Meat Loaf Muffins (Recipe found here)

Ingredients:

  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1 cup finely chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup finely chopped carrot
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano (I substitute Italian seasoning)
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 cup ketchup, divided
  • 1 1/2 pounds ground beef, extra lean (raw) (I have used ground turkey before too)
  • 1 cup finely crushed fat-free saltine crackers (about 20) (I substitute the saltines for Town House butter crackers)
  • 2 tablespoons prepared mustard
  • 1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce (If I don’t have Worcestershire, I use low sodium Soy Sauce)
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 large eggs
  • Cooking spray
  1. Preheat oven to 350°.
  2. Heat the olive oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add chopped onion, chopped carrot, dried oregano, and minced garlic; sauté 2 minutes. Cool.
  3. Combine onion mixture, 1/2 cup ketchup, and the remaining ingredients except cooking spray in a large bowl.
  4. Spoon the meat mixture into 12 muffin cups coated with cooking spray. Top each with 2 teaspoons ketchup. Bake at 350° for 25 minutes or until a thermometer registers 160°. Let stand for 5 minutes.

David Bonom, Cooking Light 
MARCH 2006

As far as the hot garlic green beans, these are SUPER simple. We have the most incredible little farmer’s market that we go to (Gilbert Farmers Market) and one of the vendors (Urban Survival) sells the most incredible Hot Garlic Sauce called Ray’z “Not Yet” Famous Hot Garlic Sauce. We put the stuff on everything. Seriously. Mr. Wonderful has made wings (honey hot garlic) and shrimp and I’ve put it on almost every green veggie. So it’s a staple in our home and we support a local vendor to make it that much better!

The green beans are easy. We use frozen because I’m lazy sometimes. It’s ok though because I’m still getting a green veggie into my boys! We cook the green beans according to the directions, then melt like a tbsp. of butter into it (healthy, I know) and put a 1-3 tbsp. of the hot garlic sauce on top and mix it all up. These are delish!

Leave a Reply

