being a mommy

Does anyone else ever feel like being a mommy is all-consuming??? I’m pretty sure it’s that way whether you work full-time, part-time, or are a stay-at-home momma. I really do think it’s part of the take-home packet when you leave the hospital. Now, don’t get me wrong, I am a NEW mommy with ONE baby, who is still less than a year old, so I certainly do not know everything there is to this job, but I do know one thing… It’s HARD and it takes every ounce of energy in you. I absolutely love being home with my baby and I am so blessed to be able to, but I’m also learning that I am not JUST a mommy, even though most days, that’s all I feel like I am because every second of the day is devoted to my little guy.

IMG_0084BW

Before having Baby J, I was a special education teacher. I loved my career. There were challenging days (as with every job), but for the most part, I loved waking up and going to work. I volunteered doing 50 different things. I went out with friends all the time. I had a very, very busy and full life and my identity was wrapped up in what I was doing. When we found out that Baby J was coming to join our family, there was no question that I would quit my job and stay home with our baby. We’d make it work however we could. There was never a discussion about it because that was what I had always wanted for my family and we’ve been blessed to make it work for the last 10 months. We also knew I had to stop volunteering for a time and that I’d need a break from our very busy life to focus on our new little bundle.

IMG_0308BW

 

Now, after 10 months, I’m learning that there is much more to me than what I do. There is also more that I have a desire to accomplish and do. I’m learning that I am a person with needs too… My only role in life is not just making milk for my baby. So, in other words, I’m learning who I AM (again) and my identity should NEVER be wrapped up in what I do, but it should be wrapped up in who Christ says I am. So, what does that mean for our family? Does that mean I’m going back to teaching? No. Does that mean I’m going back to work? No, not full-time at least. But, it does mean that I am adding more into my life that will make me happy. Things that will make me a better mommy because I am a more whole person. I’m redefining ME while being Baby J’s mommy.

IMG_0325BW

 

All photos courtesy of: Keira Grace Photography

 

One thought on “being a mommy

  1. I felt this EXACT same way! It is all consuming! Everyone always described to me it’s like a piece of you living outside your body – and it’s the truth! A super awesome mommy friend of mine once told me “I can’t tell you any secret, trick or magic spell to make it any easier. Every kid is different. But one thing I can promise is that it WILL get better!” Best advice I ever received. 🙂

Leave a Reply

