chicken tortilla casserole

sorry-pretending-cook-apology-ecard-someecards

I have a confession, I USED to be a terrible cook. Before, we were married, I was able to just throw cheese on a tortilla and call that dinner… or breakfast… or lunch. I was that person who could burn macaroni and cheese. I wish I was kidding. However, in our home, we LOVE to eat. My husband is an incredible cook. I was lacking the skills, so I made it my personal goal to learn how to cook. Even though I completely SUCKED at cooking, I was a very good baker. Since I could bake, I figured casseroles were a great place to start with the whole learning how to cook adventure. A friend of mine gave me this recipe and over the last year or so, I’ve completely altered it to make it my own. It’s always a hit whenever I make it. So here it is:

Chicken Tortilla Casserole:

12 corn tortillas

1/2 a rotisserie chicken- shredded

1 8 oz. bag of shredded cheddar cheese

8 oz. sour cream

1 can of cream of chicken soup

1 can of green chiles (we use the larger can of the Macayo’s brand green chiles)

1/4 of a red onion

1 small can of cut olives

1 tbsp. of minced garlic

*chile powder, Chiluha seasoning, Tony’s seasoning, pepper to taste (I add about a tsp. of each since we like our food spicy)

*sometimes I buy a small can of jalepenos and throw that in too depending on just how spicy I’m wanting to make it.

1. Preheat oven to 350*.

2. Tear up the 12 tortillas and throw them into a bowl.

3. Put all the other ingredients (leave 1/2 the bag of cheese for the top of the casserole) into that same bowl.

4. Mix it all up.

5. Place the mixture into a 9 x 13 pan. I use a glass casserole dish and don’t need to use any sort of oil or butter to make sure it doesn’t stick.

6. Sprinkle the remainder of the cheese on top of the mixture.

7. Place in the oven and bake for 40 minutes. Let cool for about 15 minutes.

8. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

